top of page
Nothing to book at the moment

Emotions and Critiquing

If you are a creative writer of any kind, then you are no stranger to the workshop format. If you are a writer of memoir, then you are absolutely used to harsh critiquing and, at times, negative feedback or back lash, for having written about someone's personal life and/or life experiences. The key to receiving this kind of passive-aggressiveness is to have an open mind. I write in a state of confusion, or chaos... if you will. When I create a nonfiction piece, I relive the trauma associated with that particular event. I literally am in that room again, with my mother as her lungs rattle and she expels her final breath. Tell me honestly, would you be clam, cool, and collected if you were 12-years-old and you watched your mother die and you could not do anything to stop your horrible reality? ...probably not! Writing made it possible for me to emotionally heal from the traumatic events that I experienced at a very young age. When I write, I experience an ebony bloodletting of sorts; I bleed out on the crisp white pages, for my readers to experience the spiritual death that I lived through. I have been resurrected in a way. Unlike Christ, I am a former heroin addict, who just so happen to be saved in a way that is unfathomable to even me. So, back to the post topic...Emotions are directly linked to the writing of personal essays and memoir. If you are not internally triggered by a piece, then the writer was unsuccessful in conveying their message. I just spoke to a professor on this point and I likened it to someone chopping my left arm off. My works are a part of me and when someone speaks poorly about a part of me, I become defensive and even disgruntled. Now, criticism is meant to assist the creative writer in polishing their words. My advice would be to not take feedback too personally, if this is at all possible. Separate your emotions from your work, and act as if it is not yours at all. When you detach yourself from a guttural work, then you can look at it objectively. So do not bring a sword to a workshop and try to duel your opponents (critics), rather bring a pen (open mind) and be willing to take notes and suggestions.


End Rant Here...


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page